Service Regions and Leadership Contacts

The California County Superintendents Arts Initiative leverages the California County Superintendents’ eleven service regions to build capacity in the state for arts education and support implementation of a full curriculum that includes dance, media arts, music, theatre, and visual arts.

Each service region designates a regional arts lead county office and names a regional arts lead from that office to implement the goals of the California County Superintendents Arts Initiative and to serve on the Arts Subcommittee ‚Äď which is part of the state Curricular and Improvement Support Committee (CISC).¬† We invite you to view representative examples of how county offices of education provide service and support to schools and districts through the California County Superintendents Arts Initiative in this publication: Counties on the Move: Arts Education for All Students

Interactive Regions Map

Roll over a region number to see the contacts and regional leads in that region.

Region 1 | Del Norte, Humboldt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma

Superintendent: Michael Davies-Hughes
Regional Lead: Lizzy Dostal

Humboldt County Office of Education
901 Myrtle Avenue
Eureka, CA 95501

See all contacts in this region >

Region 2 | Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Tehama, Trinity

Superintendent: Mary Sakuma
Regional Lead: Jennifer Spangler

Butte County Office of Education
1859 Bird Street
Oroville, CA 96965

See all contacts in this region >

Region 3 | Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba

Superintendent: David W. Gordon
Regional Lead: Dr. Steve Winlock

Sacramento County Office of Education
10474 Mather Boulevard (street address)
PO Box 269003 (mailing address)
Sacramento, CA 95826-9003

See all contacts in this region >

Region 4 | Napa, Solano, Marin, Contra Costa, San Francisco, Alameda, San Mateo

Superintendent: Alysse Castro
Regional Lead: Bernie Phelan

Alameda County Office of Education
313 West Winton Avenue
Hayward, CA 94544

See all contacts in this region >

Region 5 | Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, San Benito, Monterey

Superintendent: Dr. Mary Ann Dewan
Regional Lead: Sofia Fojas

Santa Clara County Office of Education
1290 Ridder Park Drive
San Jose, CA 95131-6500

See all contacts in this region >

Region 6 | Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

Superintendent: Scott Kuykendall
Regional Lead: Amy Bultena

Stanislaus County Office of Education
1100 H Street
Modesto, CA 95354

See all contacts in this region >

Region 7 | Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare

Superintendent: Michele Cantwell-Copher (Fresno) and Tim A. Hire (Tulare)  
Regional Leads: Aaron Bryan (Fresno) and Kate Stover (Tulare)

Fresno County Superintendents of Schools
111 Van Ness Avenue, Fresno, CA 93721-2000

Tulare County Office of Education
7000 Doe Avenue, Suite A, Visalia, CA 93291

See all contacts in this region >

Region 8 | Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura

Superintendent: Dr. César Morales
Regional Lead: Brett Taylor

Venture Office of Education
5189 Verdugo Way, Camarillo, CA, 93012

See all contacts in this region >

Region 9 | Imperial, Orange, San Diego

Superintendent: Dr. Paul Gothold
Regional Lead: Pauline Crooks

San Diego County Office of Education
6401 Linda Vista Road, 321S, San Diego, CA 92111

See all contacts in this region >

Region 10 | Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino

Superintendent: Dr. Edwin Gomez
Regional Lead: Louisa Higgins

Riverside County Office of Education
3939 13th St, P.O. Box 868, Riverside, CA  92502

See all contacts in this region >

Region 11 | Los Angeles

Superintendent: Dr. Debra Duardo
Regional Lead: Jeannine Flores

Los Angeles County Office of Education
9300 Imperial Highway
Downey, CA 90242

See all contacts in this region >

Region 1: Del Norte, Humbolt, Lake, Mendocino, Sonoma

Lizzy Dostal, Regional Arts Lead

Arts Learning Specialist, ArtsSEL Project Coordinator

Humboldt County Office of Education

Email: ldostal@hcoe.org

Thomas Kissinger

Del Norte County Arts Lead
Assistant Superintendent of Educational Services

Del Norte Unified School District

Email: tkissinger@delnorte.k12.ca.us

Maia Steward

Mendocino County Arts Lead
Continuous Improvement Specialist, Educational Services

Mendocino County Office of Education

Email: msteward@mcoe.us

Nzinga Woods

Sonoma County Arts Lead

Project Coordinator for Equity and Ethnic Studies and VAPA Lead

Sonoma County Office of Education

Email: nwoods@scoe.org

Rosario Morris

Lake County Arts Lead

Learning Support Specialist, VAPA Lead

Lake County Office of Education

Email: rosariomorris@lakecoe.org

Region 2: Butte, Glenn, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity

Jennifer Spangler, Regional Arts Lead

Arts Education Coordinator

Butte County Office of Education

Email: jspangler@bcoe.org

Emily Green

Glenn County Arts Lead
Ed Services Reading Coordinator

Glenn County Office of Education

Email: egreen@glenncoe.org

James Hall

Lassen County Arts Lead
Program Manager Prevention and Expanded Learning

Lassen County Office of Education

Email: jdhall@lcoe.org

Misti Norby

Modoc County Arts Lead
Director of Student and Educational Services

Modoc County Office of Education

Email: mnorby@modoccoe.org

Kristi Warren

Plumas County Arts Lead
Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction

Plumas County Office of Education

Email: kwarren@pcoe.k12.ca.us

Lauren Stroud

Shasta County Arts Lead
Director of School & District Support

Shasta County Office of Education

Email: lstroud@shastacoe.org

Marian Murphy-Shaw

Siskiyou County Arts Lead
Educational Services Director

Siskiyou County Office of Education

Email: mshaw@siskiyoucoe.net

Carolyn Diskin

Tehama County Arts Lead
District Support Consultant

Tehama County Department of Education

Email: cdiskin@tehamaschools.org

Joanne Tucker

Trinity County Arts Lead
Instructional Support Specialist

Trinity County Superintendents of Schools

Email: jtucker@trinitycoe.org

Region 3: Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba

Steven Winlock, Regional Arts Lead

Executive Director, Visual and Performing Arts

Sacramento County Office of Education

Email: swinlock@scoe.net

Robert "Bob" Kirkman

Colusa County Arts Lead
Art Teacher, Educational Services Department

Colusa County Office of Education

Email: rkirkman@ccoe.net

Ed Manansala

Nancy Jackson

Nevada County Arts Lead
Continuous Improvement Instructional Specialist for English Language Arts & the Arts

Nevada County Superintendent of Schools

Email: njackson@nevco.org

Daniel Mendoza

Placer County Arts Lead
Program Manager, Early Education Teacher Development

Placer County Office of Education

Email: dmendoza@placercoe.org

James Berardi

Kristi Johnson

Sutter County Arts Lead
Senior Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Accountability

Sutter County Superintendent of Schools

Email: kristij@sutter.k12.ca.us

Stan Mojsich

Yolo County Arts Lead

Yolo County Office of Education

Email: stan.mojsich@ycoe.org

 

Bobbi Abold

Yuba County Arts Lead
Assistant Superintendent, Alternative Education

Yuba County Office of Education

Email: bobbi.abold@yubacoe.k12.ca.us

Region 4: Napa, Solano, Marin, Contra Costa, San Francisco, Alameda, San Mateo

Bernie Phelan, Regional Arts Lead

Program Manager, Arts Learning

Alameda County Office of Education

Email: bphelan@acoe.org

Lucy Edwards

Napa County Arts Lead
Director of Continuous Improvement

Napa County Office of Education

Email: ledwards@napacoe.org

Amy Robinson

Solano County Arts Lead
Program Manager, Language and Literacy

Solano County Office of Education

Email: arobinson@solanocoe.net

Melissa Guerrero

Marin County Arts Lead
Assistant Project Consultant, Educational Services

Marin County Office of Education

Email: mguerrero@marinschools.org

Tracy McManus

Contra Costa County Arts Lead
STEAM Coordinator Educational Services

Contra Costa County Office of Education

Email: tmcmanus@cccoe.k12.ca.us

Ron Machado

San Francisco County Arts Lead
Director Visual and Performing Arts/SFUSD

San Francisco Unified School District

Email: machador@sfusd.edu

Allison Gamlen

San Mateo County Arts Lead
Visual and Performing Arts Coordinator

San Mateo County Office of Education

Email: agamlen@smcoe.org

Region 5: Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, San Benito, Monterey

Sofia Fojas, Regional Arts Lead

Audrey Sirota

Santa Cruz County Arts Lead
Visual and Performing Coordinator

Santa Cruz Office of Education

Email: asirota@santacruzcoe.org

Tony Balbas

San Benito County Arts Lead
Coordinator, Instructional Support

San Benito County Office of Education

Email: tbalbas@sbcoe.org

Maria Parker

Monterey County Arts Lead
Program Coordinator II, STEAM

Monterey County Office of Education

Email: mparker@montereycoe.org

Region 6: Amador, Calaveras, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tuolumne

Amy Bultena, Regional Arts Lead

Scott Worthing

Amador County Arts Lead
Director of Student Success

Amador County Public Schools

Email: 
scott.worthing@acusd.org

Erika Chapman

San Joaquin County Arts Lead
Coordinator Student Event and Activities

San Joaquin County Office of Education

Email: echapman@sjcoe.net

Diana Harford

Tuolumne County Arts Lead
Director of School and County Support

Tuolumne County Superintendent of Schools

Email: dharford@tcsos.us

Region 7: Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Tulare

Aaron Bryan, Regional Arts Co-Lead

Director of Arts Education

Fresno County Superintendent of Schools

Email: abryan@fcoe.org

Kate Stover, Regional Arts Co-Lead

Staff Development & Curriculum Specialist Visual and Performing Arts

Tulare County Office of Education

Email: kate.stover@tcoe.org

Tawnya Larkin

Kings County Arts Lead
VAPA Lead, ELD/ELA Consultant

Kings County Office of Education

Email: tawnya.larkin@kingscoe.org

Susan Pennell

Madera County Arts Lead
Manager, Library Media Services

Madera County Superintendent of Schools

Email: spennell@mcsos.org

Cara Goger

Mariposa County Arts Lead
Executive Director of Mariposa County Arts Council

Mariposa County Arts Council

Email: goger@mariposaartscouncil.org

Noelle Chandler

Merced County Arts Lead
Arts Education Specialist

Merced County Office of Education

Email: nchandler@mcoe.org

Region 8: Kern, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura

Brett Taylor, Regional Arts Co-Lead

Director, Local District Support

Ventura County Office of Education

Email: btaylor@vcoe.org

Jamie Viveros

Kern County Arts Lead
Steam Coordinator

Kern County Superintendent of Schools

Email: javiveros@kern.org

Kai Tepper

Santa Barbara County Arts Lead
Executive Director of the Children’s Creative Project

Santa Barbara County Education Office

Email: ktepper@sbceo.org

Region 9: Imperial, Orange, San Diego

Pauline Crooks, Regional Arts Lead

Visual and Performing Arts Coordinator

San Diego County Office of Education

Email: pauline.crooks@sdcoe.net

Scott T. Fitzpatrick

Orange County Arts Lead
Visual and Performing Arts Coordinator

Orange County Department of Education

Email: stfitzpatrick@ocde.us

Michael Garcia

Imperial County Arts Lead
Curriculum Coordinator

Imperial County Office of Education

Email: michael.garcia@icoe.org

Region 10: Inyo, Mono, Riverside, San Bernardino

Louisa Higgins, Regional Arts Co-Lead

Visual and Performing Arts Administrator

Riverside County Office of Education

Email: lhiggins@rcoe.us

Ilissa Twomey

Inyo County Arts Lead
Assistant Superintendent of Education Services

Inyo County Superintendent of Schools

Email: itwomey@icsos.us

Tammy Nguyen

Mono County Arts Lead
Assistant Superintendent of Education Services

Mono County Office of Education

Email: tnguyen@monocoe.org

Patrice Cooley

San Bernardino County Arts Lead
Arts Education Coordinator, Curriculum/Instruction and Academic Enrichment

San Bernardino County Superintendent of Schools

Email: patrice.cooley@sbcss.net

Region 11: Los Angeles

Jeannine Flores, Regional Arts Lead